Florida Intrastate Hours of Service, Explained

blog-img
10 SEP

Florida Intrastate Hours of Service, Explained.

Welcome to flaeld.com, this website is a hub of information designed to broaden understanding of Florida intrastate electronic logging devices, commonly known as ELDs, their importance to Florida’s economy, and the state’s electronic reporting requirements for ensuring compliance with its intrastate hours of service rules FS 316.302.

Starting January 1, 2020, Florida requires commercial motor vehicles that fall under its intrastate hours of service rules to comply with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)’s electronic reporting requirements. This date is just over a 100 days away!

Hours of Service

Hours of Service is just what it sounds like – the number of hours a person spends working or operating a commercial motor vehicle within a specified time period. The US Department of Transportation has regulated Hours of Service for interstate commerce for more than 80 years. Periodically, it updates these regulations.

There are two different types of hours of service – interstate and intrastate. Interstate applies to travel or the movement of goods between two states or across country borders. Think of truck that picks up its load starting in Georgia and unloads at a distribution center in Polk County.

Florida is a big state, though, and has a lot of residents and visitors. Geography necessitates a lot of intrastate commerce – the movement of goods solely within a state’s boundaries.

The focus for us is Florida’s intrastate rules, but its important to understand both the state and federal government’s hours of service rules.

Intrastate Hours of Service

Florida recently adopted the FCMSA’s regulations for using electronic logging devices to report on a truck’s compliance with the intrastate hours of service rules. If this sounds new, it is. Florida is only the second state (after Texas) to require commercial truck drivers to comply with reporting requirements for travel solely with the state’s boundaries (or will starting January 1st).

What are these rules? There are four.

  • Driver may drive 12 hours after 10 consecutive hours off duty.
    What This Means: A driver can drive for 12 straight hours (i.e Miami to Pensacola) after they have had 10 hours of rest.
  • Driver may not drive after 16th hour after coming on duty following 10 consecutive hours off duty.
    What This Means: A person cannot work more than 16 straight hours, even if they have not driven the maximum 12 hours allowed. The 16 hours includes all drive time and any stops for lunch or bathroom breaks.
  • Driver may not drive after 70/80 hours on duty in 7/8 consecutive days. 34 consecutive hours off constitutes end of 7/8 day period.
    What This Means: A driver is allowed to work for 70 hours over a 7 day period or 80 hours over an 8 day period if they also comply with the other hours of service rules regarding drive time. After the 70 or 80 hour mark, a driver must have 34 hours off duty to reset the 70 or 80 hour work window.
  • Drivers who do not exceed a 150 air mile radius and no placarded hazardous materials are exempt from maintaining a log book. Drivers not released from duty within 12 hours must document driving time.
    What This Means: Drivers who travel within 150 air miles (about 172 statute), do not carry hazardous materials, and operate less than 12 straight hours are not required to maintain a log book.
Interstate Hours of Service

The US Department of Transportation is responsible for regulating hours of service for interstate commercial activity. They have a special division for this called the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration or FMCSA. The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 49 CFR 395 covered hours of service and ELD requirements for interstate drivers, drivers who transport across state lines.

49 CFR 395 requires the use of ELDs to ensure commercial motor vehicles comply with the Interstate Hours of Service, but do not change the hours of service rules, which are stricter than Florida’s rules.

For drivers who travel between states, they must comply with the following:

  • Driver may drive 11 hours after 10 consecutive hours of off duty.
  • Driver may not drive after 14th hour after coming on duty following 10 consecutive hours off duty.
  • Driver may not drive after 60/70 hours on duty in 7/8 consecutive days.

There are couple of other rules, but these are the highlights showing the differences between the federal rules and the state of Florida’s rules.

These differing rules may sound confusing, and future blog posts will share examples of how drivers comply with these hours of service rules. It’s important, though, to know why we have hours of service rules and electronic reporting requirements. In part 2, we discuss safety and how the use of ELDs support road safety through the compliance of hours of service rules.

Florida is a big state. And it is the 3rd most populous state in the country. The state’s economy depends on the safe and efficient movement of goods, as they come into the state, leave the state, or move around this state each day, each hour, each minute and second.

This blog is our space for talking about transportation in Florida as January 1st nears, we’ll use this space to talk intricate details about various aspects of freight and goods movement sometimes, and other times, we will broadly discuss what’s happening in the state and elsewhere. Follow along!

Generic placeholder image
Elizabeth Whitton (Author)

Elizabeth Whitton is a 7th generation Floridian, who feels equally at home traveling the back roads of North Florida or I-4 through downtown Orlando. She spent the last decade working with cities and regions across the United States with a significant amount of her time focused on addressing transportation issues in Central Florida. Her goal is to effectively communicate complex policy issues and research to a broad audience. Elizabeth is a graduate of the University of Alabama and Florida State University.

Florida Intrastate Blogs

Insights into the Florida intrastate trucking industry.

Get In Touch!!! We can't wait to help you meet Florida intrastate requirements.

Provide us your email and we will contact you. Or call us now at 877.443.6949